Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Ariel (1965) contains many of Sylvia Plath's best-known poems written in an extraordinary burst of creativity just before her death in 1963, including 'Lady Lazarus', 'Edge', 'Daddy' and 'Paralytic'. The first of four collections to be published by Faber & Faber, Ariel is the volume on which Sylvia Plath's reputation as one of the most original, daring and gifted poets of the twentieth century rests.

This beautiful hardback reproduces the classic design of the first edition of a volume now recognised to be one of the most shocking and iconic collections of poetry of the twentieth century.

'If the poems are despairing, vengeful and destructive, they are at the same time tender, open to things, and also unusually clever, sardonic, hardminded . . . They are works of great artistic purity and, despite all the nihilism, great generosity . . . the book is a major literary event.' A. Alvarez in the Observer

Publisher: London : Faber and Faber, 2013.
Copyright Date: ©1965.
ISBN: 9780571310128
Characteristics: 81 pages ;,23 cm.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Feb 06, 2017

A sensitive, daring writer. With things to say! It rewards attentive reading.

Chapel_Hill_MollyL May 22, 2015

Ariel is Sylvia Plath's master work. She is at the height of her poetic genius here--the poems are ruthless and true.

Nov 07, 2012

These poems are very beautiful and thought-provoking.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at Library

To Top