Granted

Granted

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
3
3
 …
Young fairy Ophelia gets her first wish granting assignment and discovers that, although the fate of the fairy world rests on her completing her task, the job of granting a human's wish is anything but easy.
Publisher: New York, New York : Walden Pond Press, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, ©2018.
ISBN: 9780062643865
Characteristics: 325 pages ;,22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
sara_201
Oct 13, 2020

this must be a great book

JCLChrisK Jul 09, 2020

Who knew a quest into the realm of humans could be so perilous? Or so enthralling and delightful? Someone has wished upon a coin, and now the fairy Ophelia must retrieve that coin to grant the wish. She's sure she's up to the task, but she has severely underestimated all of the obstacles she will encounter. Anderson serves up a nice blend of earnestness, adventure, humor, and subtle worldbuilding. I was a bit hesitant at first, but it didn't take long before I was entirely enchanted.

h
huchee
May 27, 2020

Young Ophelia Delphinium Fidgets is on her first mission beyond the border alone but when unexpected trouble arrives how can Ophelia grant her first wish?

I really like this book because it makes me feel calm and peaceful. I wish I could go out into the world with a fairy dust/magic and grant wishes! This is a funny and pleasant book for all young readers who are looking forward to a magical adventure.

IndyPL_CarrieS Sep 27, 2019

I have enjoyed all of John David Anderson's books, but I LOVED Granted. It's a perfect blend of heart, adventure and humor. I had no idea that wish granting was such a serious and revered occupation, or one fraught with danger! When they were younger, my girls loved the Disney world of Tinkerbell and her friends and I can see some echoes of that here. Mind you, this is not a babyish story nor is it just for girls. It's fast paced, has a large cast of characters and mixes in a good dose of Mission Impossible style action. The first thing my daughter said on finishing the book was that it ought to be made into a series - this is a world we'd be happy to return and visit again and again!

jcljessicaj Aug 22, 2019

A cute fantasy full of adventure, twists and turns, and a whole lot of gumption. It follows Ophelia on her journey to finally grant her first wish, but everything that could go wrong does. I'm sometimes overwhelmed by books with one struggle after another, but the humor, adventure, and hope of this difficult journey made it exciting to the end. What will fairies go through to make sure your wish gets granted?

a
AndLib1
Mar 22, 2019

Granted is a wonderful book for middle grade kids. Girls in particular, will relate to the main character of Ophelia Delphinium Fidgets, wish granting fairy. Anderson presents a 21st Fairy world without eliminating the magic and mystery of fairy lore.
Ophelia is on her first mission as a Granter. All she has to do is find the coin the girl wished on, sprinkle it with fairy dust, say the magic words, and then return home. Since Ophelia finished first in her class this should be easy, but the world outside “haven” is very different and can be dangerous to even a well-trained fairy.
As in Ms. Bixby’s Last Day, Anderson creates believable and loveable characters. Ophelia learns that sometimes one has to choose between two deserving people and the consequence of that choice. Making things right is not easy, but is worth the effort.
I would recommend this for fans of Jeanne Birdsall’s Penderwicks series, Laura Amy Schlitz’s The Night Fairy and Edward Eager’s Half Magic series, and of course, John David Anderson’s other books.

t
The_Zookeeper
May 27, 2018

This is a great spin on the folklore of fairies. I love that they go out and grant wishes to people that will never know how their wish was granted. I very fun book.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
r
red_cat_3540
Dec 04, 2020

red_cat_3540 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 7 and 12

o
orange_lime
Mar 12, 2020

orange_lime thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

a
AndLib1
Mar 22, 2019

AndLib1 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 7 and 12

Quotes

Add a Quote
JCLChrisK Jul 09, 2020

Another example of a wasted wish--though still better than a sloppy kiss. The problem with world peace was that it never lasted. Yes, if you wished for it and your wish was chosen, the Granters would make it happen, but for a fleeting moment only, and then the world went back to its usual routine. The last time that particular wish was granted it lasted for all of forty heartbeats (and fairy heartbeats at that, which are considerably faster). Less than a minute with no war, no bloodshed, no beating or bullying. Nobody really noticed.

JCLChrisK Jul 09, 2020

"Humans are . . . " He struggled to come up with the word.

"Dangerous?" she offered. "Unpredictable? Totally insane?" Maybe all of the above?

"Complicated," he concluded.

JCLChrisK Jul 09, 2020

A wish is many things. It is hope and desire and daydreams. It is impossibility and improbibility and something in between. It is stardust and well water and spectrums of light in the sky. It is half-melted birthday candles and Christmas lists. It is broken turkey bones. It is the willing suspension of disbelief.

And sometimes it is desperation. It is a hole in your heart that wants filling. It is more-than-anything-in-the-world.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top