Primeval

Primeval

An Event Group Thriller

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
1
The New York Time s bestselling author of Ancients and Leviathan returns with another adrenaline rush-the latest thriller in the Event Group Series Twenty thousand years ago, when man crossed the land bridge to North America, creatures called They Who Follow made the great trek as well. But once in the new continent, the giant beasts disappeared, whether into hiding or extinction, no one knew.Centuries later, a battered journal-the only evidence left from the night of the Romanovs' execution-turns up in a rare bookstore. As the U.S. and Russians vie for the truth, and the lost Romanov treasure, they collide with a prehistoric predator thought long-extinct.It's up to the Event Group to lay to rest the legends. On an expedition into the wilds of British Columbia, Colonel Jack Collins and his team make a horrifying discovery in the continent's last deep wilderness, where men have been vanishing for centuries.
Publisher: New York : Thomas Dunne Books-St. Martin's Press, c2010.
ISBN: 9780312580780
0312580789
9780312533649
0312533640
Characteristics: 359 p. ;,25 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
SPL_Liz Oct 18, 2019

Recommendation from Jen ("the best book in the whole wide world"). Paranormal investigations explained by science.

s
SPL_jennifer
Oct 18, 2019

Please see review in summary section.

p
pinky0203
Nov 17, 2014

A very interesting story again with some characters that I hope will feature in future novels.

Summary

Add a Summary
s
SPL_jennifer
Oct 18, 2019

What does the lost Romanov treasure of Russia, Sasquatch, and British Columbia have in common? They are all woven together in this audacious novel. Golemon continues his Event series with this book that delves into cryptozoology and revisionist history. After the execution in 1918 of the Russian Czar and his family a legend emerged that the czar's children, Alexei and Anastasia, survived―and came to America with the treasure of the Romanov dynasty.

A battered journal is found confirming this legend, which prompts a race to find it by both Russia and a U.S. based secret government agency (The Event Group). The group specializes in myth and aims to find out where the treasure is buried before the Russians do. But there is a problem - when humans first came to North America they were followed by another species. These predators hide the secret of the gold somewhere deep in British Columbia and those who seek it tend to disappear. Throw in some Quebec separatists, a secret US mission to take out Russian leaders during the Cold War, and you have an unlikely plot line that somehow is well woven together. Suspend your disbelief and enjoy the trip.

This book is a wild ride of a read that will keep you turning the pages. You don’t have to read the others in the series to understand what’s going on. Fans of James Rollins, Clive Cussler, and Steve Berry will like this New York Times best-selling author. Could the events in this book actually happen? Should history be re-written? Probably not…or maybe?

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top